RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

I don’t like Baked Cheesecake

Leave a comment

Not that it has anything to do with tonight’s dinner but I really don’t like baked cheesecake. which is a shame because I see all sorts of flavours out there, it is the texture that gives me the willies though. So if ever you see me with a cheesecake recipe, it will be one of those easy, no bake, just refrigerate varieties.

Anyway, dinner last night was Savory Chops and Macaroni Cheese. I had a craving for a creamy hip riding Mac & Cheese yesterday and I had this Savory Chop recipe that sounded sweet and spicy, the perfect foil for the creamy cheesy goodness.

The chops ended up sticky and sweet and tasting surprisingly like there was apricots in there somewhere. The Mac & Cheese was just as creamy and cheesey as you would expect.

Savoury Chops

Serves: 4

8 lamb forequarter chops (I used lamb steaks)
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons vinegar (I used red wine vinegar)
2 teaspoons curry powder
½ teaspoon mustard powder
½ teaspoon ground ginger
½ cup tomato sauce
1 cup water
2 tablespoons cornflour

Brown chops and drain off fat. Place in a casserole dish.
Blend remaining ingredients together, stir and bring to the boil.
Pour over chops, cover and bake at 180°C for 1 hour or until tender.

Macaroni Cheese

Serves 6

200g macaroni, cooked (I probably cooked twice that)
100g butter
100g flour
1 L milk
salt and pepper
200g grated cheese (I didn’t have much chedder so it was a combo of cheddar and parmesan)
200g sliced ham, finely chopped
1 tsp dijon mustard
2 Tbls breadcrumbs

Preheat oven to 190C.
Melt butter (I finely chopped an onion and added it here), add flour and cook for 1 min. Gradually add the milk
Whisk until the mixture is thick and smooth. Remove from heat.
Season with salt and pepper. Stir in 3/4 of the cheese.
Mix in ham and mustard. Add drained macaroni. Pour into a well greased
Oven dish and top with remaining cheese and breadcrumbs.
Bake for 20 mins.

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

