RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Chicken Wings

Leave a comment

I like chicken wings. I find that the marinated ones available in the supermarket deli section are limited in their flavour choices. I like to buy raw chicken wings, cut them into joint portions myself and freeze them in marinade that I make at home. This is much cheaper than buying the precut wingettes and easy to do, not to mention that you get to enjoy some personalised flavours. It is also great if you have a cat to enjoy the end tips that you don’t want to just discard, a cat unlike the Mr Fussypants that I live with.

The other week I bought 2kg of wings and froze them in 2 lots. One was a BBQ sauce that my husband is addicted to, the other was a tomato and sweet chilli sauce, they were both great. Of course you can get a lot more complicated and there are loads of recipes for wing marinade on the net and all of these are good for drumsticks too, for a more substantial meal.

Doing them at home you don’t have to be chained to the Plum sauce or Honey Soy, you are limited only by your imagination and/or what you have in the pantry.

Having a bunch of them in the freezer is a great help when you have one of those impromptu gatherings at your house also…just dump them in an oven tray and cook straight from frozen. Hot and tasty finger food in a hurry.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

