RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Can you ‘social network’?

Leave a comment

I went to a job interview the other day.
Somewhat daunting experience for a 40yr old who has had the same job for over 5 years.
The job market has changed.

Interviews when I was young used to be based on your experience, if you didn’t have experience then you had nothing.
I remember despairing of finding a job straight out of school because the first question was always ‘What experience have you got?’

When I grew up most people left school at 16 to pursue their chosen career  only the elite stayed on for the next 2 years of high school and, maybe, progressed on to university.

Just my luck, I left school in the ‘you need experience’ age and now that I have experience I am looking for work again in the ‘you need a degree’ age.

Now I clearly don’t cut it in the age category, I am not 18, and as an experienced professional I do expect something other than minimum wage…clearly not a good candidate to begin with.
Unfortunately I also lack any kind of degree. I have excelled in my workplace, worked to the best of my ability and, all these years, wasn’t aware that I needed a degree to accomplish that end.

One prospective employer recently nattered on about the job for a while and then out of the blue asked me ‘How’s you Facebook?’

Me: Excuse me?
Him: How’s your Facebook?, we are really into Facebook here.

Now, last time I looked I needed neither a degree nor experience to master Facebook
(in fact some of the things I see posted there would suggest that NOT having these qualities prepares you to be a better user)
and frankly my current employer would rather we avoided unnecessary meandering around social networking sites on company time, so I was seriously nonplussed.

Me: My Facebook is fine, thank you. I don’t use it a lot but I do have an account. I am capable of using it.

That pretty much ended the interview as I was hustled out the door.

I figured that I might as well head home, lobotomize myself with a bottle of sweet wine, post 22 inane status updates and start ‘liking’ work from home pages. I’ll get myself a Masters degree in Facebookology and see if I can snag the interest of a prospective employer.

Wish me luck….

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

