RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

How do you get rid of ‘that’ stuff?

Leave a comment

I have stuff.
Boxes of things that have been moved from one property to another 5 times now and have yet to be unpacked.
In fact some of these boxes have things in them that can’t be unpacked, there is just no reasonable place for it to be unpacked too.
The problem is not that it is all ‘good’ stuff.
The problem is that it all means something.

My parents wedding gift dinner set (3x boxes)
Another box of various crockery my parents got as wedding gifts
My grandparents old radio/record player that lived in my bedroom as a child (equivilent of 4x boxes)
A box full of records for the old record player
4 slabs of beeswax that my Father gave me (that stuff smells devine when you crack the box lid)
My stamp albums, handed down to me from my elder brother and before him who knows? (1x box)
Not to mention the 4x boxes of stuff I am hanging onto for my son and the 7x boxes for my daughter.

My Grandmother is fond of showing me things in her china cabinet and telling me when she got that from her Mother, or how she and my Grandfather purchased this on such and such a trip.
All I can see is another eventual 5x boxes of things in my garage that I don’t need but can’t bare to part with because they meant something to someone I love.

I try not to show these things to my children, not to burden them with stories about my connections to these things.
So when the time comes they might not feel the need to keep this all of this stuff, not because it is ‘good’ stuff but because it meant something to someone they love.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

