RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Awesome Hotdogs

Leave a comment

My husband fancied hotdogs last night for dinner.

Now I watch TV, so I am well educated (the public education system has nothing on Discovery channel!) and armed with all sorts of erroneous facts and titbits of information that I don’t need. I also have access to the internet so I am a virtual font of offsite knowledge with Google at my fingertips.

One thing that TV has done for me is introduce me to American food. I watch ‘Man v’s Food’ regularly, you know the one, where he travels around America and finding the best eating places, whilst frequently over indulging in massive platefuls of food that would down a masterdom. This is good food, maybe not necessarily good for you but wholesome and hearty and made with care and pride. We just don’t have places like that where I live, or maybe we do and I just haven’t found them yet.

I review restaurants in my spare time. I eat there, gauge the service, the food quality and the ambiance and then go home and write about it. I don’t get paid to do it, I do it because I am searching for really good food here and I want other people to be able to use my experiences to help them find somewhere decent to eat. My experiences have been varied to say the least. All I want is somewhere that makes me excited when I think ‘let’s go out to eat’, I haven’t found it yet.

Anyway, back to the hotdogs. I know, from experience not to go out looking for a hotdog. They will just be better if I do them myself. Now my husband is a mustard and tomato sauce (ketchup) kind of guy. That is all he wants, not interested in variation. I on the other hand find that a little mundane and was looking to make myself something a bit more special.

Now those people who live in places that have a ‘man v’s food’ eatery nearby will probably find this laughable but I had the BEST hotdog I have ever had last night and I just want to share it. Of course I first spent some happy hours on Google searching out other people’s recipes, then grabbing a handful of ideas that appealed to me I discarded all the recipes and ran to the supermarket for supplies.

Hotdog Frankfurters
Soft Rolls
Cream Cheese
Sweet Onions

Of course I had butter, tomato sauce and mustard in the cupboard

I sliced an onion thinly and fried it in the tiniest bit of butter until it was soft and caramelised.
I added half a block of cream cheese and stirred it up until it was soft.
I spread this on my buns and squeezed on some tomato sauce and slapped in a frank.

I sat and experienced hotdog nirvana!
It made enough for 3 buns and I am not ashamed to say I ate the lot. I have never had a hotdog so good.

My husband had sauce and mustard and was happy as a pig in mud. In fact he is off fishing today and took a six pack of franks in buns dressed just the way he likes them, just to tide him over until dinner.

Anyway, laugh if you will. If you live anywhere you can get really good food then go out and get some and think of me on my never ending quest for food made with love, and give the hotdogs a try, they really are good.

Sadly for now my motto is: The more I eat out, the more I wish I had eaten in.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

