RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Fruit Loop Biscuits

Leave a comment

These sexy little creations are Fruit Loop Biscuits. I am so amazed at how good they are!

When I was a kid we had one package of cereal open at a time and it was of the healthy hearty boring as eating sawdust variety like Weeties, Weetbix, Cornflakes or Allbran. You know you are hard done by as a child when your favourite cereal is Allbran.

Our kids have 3 boxes of cereal on the go and at least 2 of them have 2 cups or less in the bottom. Frequently they are also left open to the elements and end up absorbing moisture and become nasty little chewy uninspiring morsels of dampness that no-one will touch. Hence the biscuits. I found a package of, surprise, surprise, open Kellogg’s Fruit Loops in the bottom of my pantry today, along with 2 other packages of cereal. 1 packet had barely enough for a bowl full, so I ate that for breakfast. The other had a good amount of something chocolaty and flaky so I closed that up and left it for another day. The Fruit Loops have been haunting me all day, they were moist and chewy and nasty but surely there was something I could do with them to resurrect them for another day?

Ta dah Fruit Loop Biscuits!

I’ll admit, I was sceptical but I have a bunch of friends over tomorrow and will have a house full of kids so I figured that they wouldn’t go to waste even if they were fairly ordinary (kids are walking disposal units that will eat anything ‘junkie’ in my experience, even if it isn’t fantastic). Really though, they are pretty dammed good. The oven re-established the crispiness of the cereal and the biscuits are soft and light.

Fruit Loop Biscuits (thanks Kelloggs!)
4 dozen

2 cups Kellogg’s Fruit Loops
2 cups sifted flour
1/2 tsps baking powder
1/4 tsps salt
1 cup soft butter
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsps vanilla

Crush Fruit Loops into medium fine crumbs. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Blend butter, sugar and vanilla until fluffy. Add sifted dry ingredients, mixing thoroughly.
Shape dough into 2.5cm small balls and roll carefully in crushed Fruit Loops to coat completely.
Place on greased cookie sheets.
Bake in moderate oven 180C about 14 minutes.
Remove from oven and cool on trays or a rack.
Try not to eat before the kids arrive. Go on, try!

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

