RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Ricotta Pancakes. Mmmm.

2 Comments

I woke on Sunday really wanting to make these, although I am the only person in the house who really likes them. I made them anyway because my husband is a fussy eater and if I only cooked what we both liked then I would miss out on heaps of stuff I like. He ate one and then got stuck into the left over BBQ meat from Saturday. I ate more than was good for me and have been eating the left overs with jam or syrup since.

I always serve these with cooked apple and a little maple syrup as they have no sugar of their own. I simply peel, core and chop the apple (I have this nifty little machine that turns the apples into cored, peeled ribbons and then I just crush them in my hand to break the rings apart.) and then fry it in a smidge of butter and then add a little water to moisten and a little sugar to taste. Sometimes I throw in a clove or two to give it that apple pie tang. I layer this between the pancakes and drizzle over a little maple syrup for added sweetness. You could serve them with any kind of fruit you prefer.

Ricotta Pancakes
Serves 2 (or just one if she is very hungry or willing to eat leftovers)

250g Ricotta Cheese
125 ml milk
2 large eggs (separated)
100 g all purpose flour
1 Tsp baking powder
pinch salt
little vegetable oil

In a large bowl whisk together ricotta cheese, milk and egg yolks. Sift flour, baking soda and
salt and stir into mixture. Whisk to a smooth batter.
Beat egg whites until they become foamy but not too stiff and fold into batter.
Heat oil in a large frying pan and drop in heaped dessertspoons of batter. Cook for about 1 minute on a low heat until golden brown. Flip them over and cook for a further minute.
Keep pancakes warm by tenting with foil on a large heated plate while you make up the rest of the pancakes.

I always make enough for my husband too, just in case. Then I heroically eat them all when he declines, so as not to waste food. Don’t say I am not a generous soul.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

2 thoughts on “Ricotta Pancakes. Mmmm.

  1. I like you. This sounds yum, gonna make it 😀

Leave a Reply

