RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

I’m a bad foodie :(

Leave a comment

I have a confession. I know this makes me a bad ‘foodie’. I know this is terribly nonconformist of me. I have tried to conform, I really have, but I just can’t, it just isn’t right but…

I don’t like coriander leaves.

There I said it, it’s out there for everyone to recoil in horror from.

Coriander leaves, they are the flavour of the moment, they are in everything, used as an ingredient, and more often than not, dressing, replacing the ubiquitous parsley sprig. As they seem to be prevalent in almost everything these days I have tried my very best to like them but to me they smell and taste like old sweat socks and are best described as ‘yucky’. I must be missing something; there must be a taste mutation that I evidently do not possess that enables people to like, nay, rave about, this unpleasant, overly fragrant herb. If ever I try a recipe that contains coriander leaves you may rest assured that they are swiftly substituted with parsley and/or ground coriander. The flavour may not be the same as the writer intended but it will be infinitely more palatable to me.

For now I apologize for my palatal naivety and hope that if I reproduce something here that should have previously contained coriander leaves that those of you with more sophisticated palates will still be able to enjoy it.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

