RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

I am making Whoopie…of the pie variety

Leave a comment

How excited am I? I have just purchased my first jar of ‘Fluff’!

Now this may seem a rather banal thing to many of you but in Australia marshmallow fluff in a jar is not something you really see often. It did hit the shops a few years back and then disappeared again before I managed to find a use for it. Yesterday I went looking for it because I had heard it was back and because I have a song stuck in my head.

Yes, I do.

‘Makin’ Whoopee’ is an old song from about 1928.
On a side note, this is when my Nan was 8 years old.
Now where I get a 1920’s song from I don’t know but it naturally got me thinking ‘Whoopie Pies’, as you do… I have never had or made Whoopie Pies before, but of course being fascinated by all things food, an affliction nurtured by way too much exposure to TLC and the Food Channel, I have heard about and seen them.
They are an American treat that has yet to catch on here, although you do see more of them around lately. I do however have a couple of recipes for them because the internet recipe community has no geographical boundaries.

That is one thing I love about the internet. I no longer have cook books in my house (except a couple that used to belong to my Mother and have sentimental value) just a vast database of recipes from everywhere and for everything. My husband is originally from South Africa and I like to surprise him with a taste of home occasionally which is so very easy to do with the internet.

So this weekend I will try my hand at Whoopie Pies, I have the kids again this weekend and I have a feeling that it won’t take too much persuasion to get them to polish of a batch or two.

Meanwhile I will drift around the house, practicing my dance steps, humming ‘Makin’ Whoopee’ to myself. Heavens know the cat is traumatized enough already, maybe I should go back to the supermarket and do it instead…

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

