RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Quick and Easy Finger Food

Leave a comment

I was wandering the isles of the supermarket yesterday, studiously avoiding both the confectionery isle and as many weirdos as I could.
My constant detours, however, brought me to the preserved meats and cheeses section which is almost as dangerous as the confectionery, in fact maybe more so. A cabanossi caught my eye, he came with 2 friends. I had an idea that used one but the extra 2? Ha! Like that would be a problem. Trust me, they will not be hanging around for long. A tub of sheep’s cheese ended up making its sneaky way into my trolley also (you just cannot trust sheep!) before I managed to fight my way free.
Anyway, below is what became of cabanossi number one. We won’t talk about the others.

Cabanossi Bites
Makes 32

1x cabanossi, sliced into 32 thin rounds
2x Frozen puff pastry sheets
Dijon mustard

Preheat oven to 180°C.
Thaw puff pastry and slice each sheet into 16 small squares.
Squeeze a small amount of Dijon mustard on the center of each square.
Top with a cabanossi slice.

Pull the pastry corners up and twist to hold them together.
Place on lightly greased tray and spray with cooking spray. Bake for approximately 10
minutes or until golden and pastry is cooked.

I was happy with these just by themselves. Typically, my husband drowned them in tomato sauce but as he does that with just about everything I wouldn’t take it as a commentary on their delicious morishness. They were simple to construct and quick to cook. They will make a comeback next time I have visitors for sure. If there is any cabanossi in the house.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

