RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Lemon & Ginger Chicken

1 Comment

In the last 2 days I have made 2 evening meals and they have both been outstanding.

Last night was Lemon & Ginger Chicken. This came about because the night before was Billy Kee Chicken which called for 3 egg yolks. Naturally I was then left with 3 egg whites and had to find a recipe to use them up. This was a doozy, lemony, faintly gingery and saucy it went perfectly with rice and green beans.

I was a bit reluctant to try both of these recipes because of the frying. To be honest with you, deep frying is not my thing. I can get in enough trouble with hot water and steam. The very idea of my clumsy, careless self in charge of a pot of spitting, angry, hot oil makes me, at least, a little trepidatious. I compromised by not ‘deep’ frying, but shallow frying in my fry pan. I managed not to burn myself, major achievement, and actually ended up enjoying myself. I have to say, the Lemon & Ginger chicken was a joy to fry, the egg white and cornflour puffed up beautifully and cleanly. It didn’t soak up the oil, drained nicely and once I was done the oil was clean as when I started.

Lemon and Ginger Chicken
Serves 2

2 whole chicken breasts
3 egg whites
1 1/2 tablespoons cornflour
oil for deep frying
SAUCE:
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 cup water
2 chicken stock cubes
1 teaspoon grated green ginger
1 tablespoon cornflour
1 tablespoon water, extra
1 tablespoon honey
2 tablespoons sugar
1 shallot

Skin chicken breasts, remove meat from bones, cut meat into 5mm strips.
Combine lightly beaten egg whites and cornflour, add chicken strips, mix well.
Heat oil in wok or pan, add chicken strips, fry until golden brown. Drain on absorbent paper. Remove excess oil from pan. Place chicken on serving plate, keep warm.
Combine lemon juice, water, crumbled stock cubes, grated ginger, honey
and sugar in pan. Bring to boil. Combine cornflour and extra water, add to pan, stir until sauce boils and thickens, reduce heat, simmer two minutes. Pour over chicken.
Serve with rice. Garnish with chopped shallot.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “Lemon & Ginger Chicken

  1. Pingback: A new kitchen toy | RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Leave a Reply

