RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Take out at home

Leave a comment

Because I have been pressed for time I am discovering that I can dress up products that I originally used for something simple, to be something else entirely.

I had a bottle of plum sauce marinade, which I would normally just dump on some chicken wings and bake as it is.

Last night, having discovered the fabulous eggwhite and cornflour batter that fries up so beautifully, my husband requested sweet and sour pork so here it is in all its unmeasured glory…I have guessed at the quantities, I am really bad for a blob of this a sprinkle of that, nothing is ever the same twice.

Sweet and Sour Pork
Serves 2

500g pork steaks, cubed
3 egg whites
1 ½ Tbls cornflour
½ tsp salt
2/3 of a 375ml bottle of plum sauce marinade
½ red onion, roughly chopped
3 pineapple rings, chopped
1 Tbls cider vinegar
1 Tbls sweet chilli sauce
Cooked rice to serve

Break up egg whites and mix in cornflour and salt.
Throw in pork and mix to coat, it really doesn’t look like it is doing much but it will when you fry it.
Deep fry pork in batches and drain.
Dump all other ingredients, except rice, into a saucepan and heat until sticky and thick.
Serve rice with pork drizzled with sauce.

I did the same thing a few days ago with some freshwater fish we bought home from camping/fishing. It was awesome.
Really, I am never going out for Chinese food, ever again.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

