RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Beer-Braised Pork Cutlets

Leave a comment

I cannot drink alcohol, not because I am somehow against its consumption or I don’t like it but because it does not like me. Not even a little bit.
I have discovered that I can however cook with it. As I don’t drink, I don’t have alcohol in the house often so I squirrel away recipes for times when people leave a bottle of beer or a half bottle of wine (I have tried substituting other ingredients but it just isn’t the same). So any odd bottles that guests leave in my refrigerator are quickly consumed in any recipe that I can find that utilizes it.
I could of course stop being so lazy and drag myself into a bottle shop but that is like a diabetic having to shop in a candy store, it just reminds you of all the good things out there to try that you can’t have, just miserable really.

So here is a bottle of beer that a kind friend left me some time ago, the only way I can enjoy it.
When I think about it that way, it isn’t so bad….

Beer-Braised Cutlets
Serves 4

4 pork sirloin cutlets, tenderized
4 tablespoons flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 teaspoons butter
1 cup beer
2 tablespoons cider vinegar
2 tablespoons prepared mustard
2 teaspoons brown sugar
2 teaspoons dill weed

Stir together flour, salt and pepper and coat cutlets. In a large
skillet over medium-high heat, melt butter to sizzling and add cutlets.
Saute until golden brown on one side; turn cutlets and add remaining
ingredients to skillet. Bring to a boil, lower heat and cover. Simmer
for 10-12 minutes, until pork is cooked through. Remove cutlets to a
warm platter, boil and stir pan juices until thickened; serve cutlets
with pan sauce.

As you can see, I tossed in a couple of handfuls of baby spinach into the sauce after I removed the pork chops and served with a pile of mashed potatoes. It was very good!

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

