RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Blue Cheese for everyone!

Leave a comment

Adding to my, harassment by a hyperactive cat, woes my internet keeps crashing and not just a couple of times a day, more like a couple of times every 5 minutes. It’s driving me justifiably crazy as I try to both study and update here.

So before the cat returns and in between the frantic clicking of my modem as it desperately tries to connect and reconnect I will try to post you a new recipe.

This one was born of a great deal of odd circumstances falling together in a happy coincidence that made these little bundles of heaven achievable. I had bought a leek (can’t remember doing that in the last 7 years, so that was odd circumstance 1) and I had just made chicken pies for the freezer out of the left overs of an acceptable but not fabulous chicken crockpot recipe. This left me with scraps of puff and short pasty that were not worth keeping nor was I happy to throw them away (odd circumstance 2). I also had some gorgonzola in the freezer from a recipe a few weeks ago (odd circumstance 3).

And so was born

Blue Cheese and Leek Tarts

Serves: 12

15 g butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 leek, halved lengthwise, washed and sliced
1 clove garlic, crushed
2 sheets puffed pastry, thawed
100 g blue cheese, crumbled
2 eggs
½ cup cream

Melt butter and oil together in a frying pan. Gently saute leek and garlic until leek is very tender. Allow to cool. Cut 8 cm circles in pastry, ease each circle into a shallow oiled muffin tin.
Place an even amount of leek into each case and crumble cheese on top.
Whisk eggs and cream together, pour even amount of mixture into cases.
Bake at 180°C for 15-20 minutes or until puffed, firm and golden.

You could use feta or goats cheese if you preferred.

I kneaded the puff and short pastry together and cut into 12 pieces, rolled them into balls with my hands and then used a rolling pin to make them into rounds. I managed to use up all my scraps which pleased me immensely (I am pretty easy to please) and these were really really really good!

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

