RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Coping with learning or cats or both…

Leave a comment

The course is going okay, it has its frustrating times but I seem to be coping. It takes up a lot of time and I haven’t been doing much of anything else. Of course I still cook and I still photograph my meals (and my photography is still crappy) but I don’t seem to be getting around to sharing it with you as often as I’d like. And then I get days like today when I intend to study all day as I am alone, then I think, I’ll blog first, which goes well for about 10 seconds until Fubar the cat realizes that I am in the office ON A SUNDAY and comes to make my life hell.

Earlier I was trying to type and he was laying on my mouse trying to get something under my keyboard which kept selecting parts of my document randomly and editing them in weird ways. Now he is killing a business card on the floor which lets me type a bit more successfully.

Ok, he’s back. He has a  dislike for my iPhone and steals it and chews it constantly. That is his destruction of choice right at the moment. I swear my cat has ADHD, he cannot settle to one mode of destruction for more than a minute at a time. Thankfully this also means that he wanders off and finds something better to do periodically, like steal the bath plug and stash it on top of the dryer or raid the chamber of new toys (better known as my daughter’s bedroom) for feminine hygiene products to scatter through the house.

While he is giving me a break here is a tasty biscuit slice that I made yesterday. This was one of those, take your rings off and get your hands into it kind of mixes, you would never get it together otherwise. It has sugar, coffee, choc chips and nuts in it (I used pecans because I had some), how can it be bad?

Coffee Toffee Bars

1 cup butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 tsp instant coffee granules
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1-1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped nuts

Preheat oven to 180C degrees. Grease a 33x22cm pan.
Cream together butter, brown sugar, coffee granules, and vanilla extract.
Mix flour with baking powder and salt. Stir dry ingredients into creamed mixture.
Add chocolate chips and nuts. Spread dough in prepared pan.
Bake for 18 – 20 minutes. Cool and cut into bars.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

