RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Mars Bars Muffins

Leave a comment

Needed sugar today after a really bad night.
I am alone this week and studying almost constantly, this is great for my study regime but terrible for my sleep patterns. I fall right asleep when my head hits the pillow but unfortunately as the night goes on my mind drifts back into my study and I end up spending sometime between midnight and 3am tossing and turning while my mind chews on my study and incorporates it horribly into my dreams making for restless nights and eye bags I could pack luggage into. I currently have a tissue soaked in lavender oil tucked into the neck of my shirt trying to ward off a headache and a rich chocolaty muffin digesting in my tummy. As I reach for another to nibble with my latest cup of tea I thought I should share the recipe.

Mars Bar Muffins
Serves: 6

125 g butter
¾ cup brown sugar
3 x 60 g Mars bars, chopped
½ cup cocoa
2 eggs
¾ cup self-raising flour
½ cup plain flour
1 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 180 C. Grease muffin tin.
Place butter and sugar into a medium sized saucepan and melt, stirring, over a low heat.
Remove from heat and add 2½ of the chopped Mars bars and cocoa, stir until combined
and let mixture cool for 5 minutes.
Whisk in eggs, flour and vanilla. Drop spoonfuls into muffin pans and
place a reserved piece of Mars bar on top of each muffin.
Cook for 20 minutes, or until muffins are tested when a skewer inserted comes out clean.
Muffins can be drizzled with chocolate or caramel sauce and served with ice cream but they are great just as they are.

Recipe notes
These muffins freeze well. I put the Mars Bar pieces on as soon as I removed them from the oven, they melted on nicely (blame this on sleep deprivation, I just forgot them beforehand)

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

