RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Vietnamese Pork Chops

Leave a comment

Looking at how regularly I post, you would be forgiven for thinking that I rarely cook. Thing is that I cook every day but I only post things that are new and that are good. No point telling you about all the things that didn’t quite cut the mustard.
Last night it was pork chops and they definitely made the grade.

They were messy to prepare and my hand smelled like the rub for quite some time (which is okay by me, my family is used to me sitting on the couch sniffing my hands) they turned out sweet and spicy with a tiny bit of heat, just to get your attention. I poured the resulting ‘gravy’ over the rice also where it made a fantastic spicy sauce. Of course I chopped the green onion, all ready for the big photo and to garnish and improve my meal and then left it on the chopping board while I ate my dinner, to be discovered upon returning the plates to the kitchen. It astonishes me how often I do things like that. Like always, I will blame it on lack of sleep and an overabundance of distractions in the form of study.

As well as being fantastically tasty, these were super quick to make (the rice took longer) and were made of things that I just have in the house so no special shopping required. Got to love that!

Vietnamese Pork Chops

4 pork chops
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 teaspoons paprika
2 teaspoons ground coriander
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1 tablespoon bottled minced ginger
2 teaspoons bottled minced garlic
Cooking spray
Sliced green onions

Lightly score a diamond pattern on both sides of pork. Combine sugar and
next 6 ingredients (sugar through garlic); rub evenly over pork.

Heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high
heat. Add pork; cook 4 minutes on each side or until done. Garnish with
sliced green onions, if desired. Makes 4 servings.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

