RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Fasta Pasta

Leave a comment

It was Friday and the kids would be with us so the natural answer is pasta bake.

Picking up the kids requires lots of driving and usually the answer to the dinner question is fast food! Trying to be a bit more budget conscious and with a natural aversion to all things touched by random teenagers, I settled on pasta bake. Both the kids like it and it is an easy meal I know they will eat.

I thought I’d try a new recipe, you know rather than the ‘dump a bit of this and a bit of that in with mince and macaroni’, which is my usual style of pasta bake.

Anyway this ended up being pretty tasty. The green onions came through strongly, a lot stronger than I thought they would. The kids didn’t seem that thrilled with it to be honest but husband and I loved it and there is a good chance they were just sulking because it wasn’t fast food. I’ll make it again, I imagine it would freeze well but there wasn’t enough left to bother this time around.

Sour Cream Beef Noodle  Bake

Serves: 6 (or 2 hungry adults and 2 miserable kids with a bit left over)

250g wide egg noodles (or whatever noodles you have, does it really matter?)
450g lean beef mince
1 tablespoon butter (I used olive oil)
1 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
1 cup tomato sauce (not the ketchup kind, the pasta sauce kind)
1 cup cottage cheese, creamed
1 cup sour cream
1 cup chopped spring onions
1 cup grated sharp Cheddar cheese

Cook noodles in boiling salted water. Rinse in cold water and drain.
Preheat oven to 180C .
Brown meat in butter; add salt, pepper, garlic salt and tomato
sauce. Simmer for 5 minutes. Mix cottage cheese, sour cream,
onions, meat sauce and noodles. Place in a casserole dish and
sprinkle with cheddar cheese.
Bake, uncovered, for 20 to 25 minutes.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

