RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

No Bacon for me please

Leave a comment

Now here is a recipe that wasn’t my favourite, I’ll admit it, but I will include it here because

  1. I don’t like bacon much
  2. Like a lot of kids, my husband doesn’t like vegetables

Now to clarify those points.

I don’t like bacon, really, at all. He does. So the bacon in this recipe gives it a smokey, bacony flavour that I don’t particularly enjoy too much but that aside it was everything else I like in a pasta bake. It was saucy and cheesy, it had chicken and veggies, if I had left out the bacon it would have probably suited me really well.

He doesn’t like veggies, really, at all. I do. He actually didn’t mind this recipe. The quantity of ‘hidden’ vegetables was quite high so I wasn’t sure he would take to it. The bacon probably helped, he really does like it…

Anyway if you have fussy kids (or others) and don’t mind a bit of bacon, this is probably a keeper.

Chicken and Macaroni Bake
Serves: 4-6

2 cups macaroni, uncooked
500 g chicken breast, cut into thin strips
1 large onion, finely chopped (I grated all the veggies on mass in the food processor)
1 large carrot, finely chopped
2 zucchinis, skin on, finely chopped
3 bacon rashers, chopped
1 x 440 mL tin tomato soup
1/3 cup cream (or sour cream) I use Greek yoghurt but I just HAVE to be different
Salt and pepper, to taste (needs the salt, the soup is sweet)
1½ cups grated cheese

Cook macaroni in boiling water, Drain, rinse and set aside.
Cook chicken in a pan and set aside.
Fry vegetables and bacon, cooking for approximately 10 minutes.
Add chicken and cook for a few minutes more.
Combine macaroni, soup, cream, salt and pepper.
Mix with chicken and vegetables.
Pour mixture into a flat ovenproof dish and sprinkle with cheese.
Bake at 180°C for approximately 20 minutes or until cheese is melted and browned.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

