RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Deja what?

Leave a comment

We all know about Déjà vu – the experience of being certain that you have experienced or seen a new situation previously

My daughter has Déjà visité which is a less common experience and it involves an uncanny knowledge of a new place. When she was little she saw a picture of London Bridge and began talking about when we were there, even at 17 she still swears that she has been there although we clearly haven’t. She has the memories…

Presque vu is something that I suffer from, lately I feel it very strongly for some reason. It is very similar to the “tip of the tongue” sensation – it is the strong feeling that you are about to experience an epiphany – though the epiphany seldom comes. The term “presque vu” means “almost seen”. The sensation of presque vu can be very disorienting and distracting.

I don’t know what it means but I feel like I am on the verge of ‘something’, I don’t even know what that something is. The feeling is almost always there, almost like part of my mind is off somewhere, yearning, reaching towards something else that I don’t know about and can’t see. I feel almost light headed, like my full concentration cannot be held by anything.

It makes focusing on study and/or work difficult. I often double back and check my work over and over because I constantly feel like I may have lost concentration somewhere along the way and made mistakes, the mistakes are rarely there but I can’t shake the feeling that part of me is elsewhere.

Maybe I am a being caught between universes and this disorientation is a symptom of having to exist in both? If so I wish the elastic band would just snap back into place because the distracted feeling is sometimes difficult to cope with. Maybe one day it will all become clear and I will suddenly wake up with a cure for the common cold and a neat way to break down CO2 in the atmosphere to reverse global warming. Maybe the mother ship will come and collect me before I shed my skin and become an invertebrate alien life form. Maybe I will start to channel for factory chickens and lead a massive chicken rebellion that will topple governments in the western world and hamburger chain stores will have to make eggless breakfast menu items.

Maybe I just need a good nights sleep?

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

