RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

There will be Naan of that…

Leave a comment

I drove close to 400kms on Saturday so on Sunday I was beat. I was alone and just wanted to bum about doing not much at all. I managed to vacuum the house and put on a couple of loads of washing but that was my job lot. I had decided to make a curry the day before and this recipe was perfect for a lazy day. Not much preparation and all day to simmer it slowly. Just what I was looking for! The plan was that we would eat it tomorrow, the husband being home then, but he managed an earlier flight, glory be! I had intended to make Naan to go with it, not sure what happened to that plan, just know that when we sat down with it in the evening there was no Naan anywhere to be seen. I am planning another curry later in the week, maybe the Naan will surface then, who knows?

Anyway, I tweaked it a bit, it just didn’t seem fragrant enough. I might toss in an additional cinnamon stick next time too. It was a good rainy day, belly filling, warm meal. I had a nice day preparing it and it filled my belly nicely for dinner. Who could ask for more? Although a little Naan on the side would be nice….

Creamy Lamb Curry

Serves: 4

750 g diced lamb
5 tablespoons olive oil
1 stick of cinnamon
6 cloves
6 cardamom pods
1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 teaspoon grated ginger
1 cup yoghurt
1 heaped teaspoon turmeric
Chilli powder, to taste
½ cup almond meal
Salt and pepper, to taste
1 x 400 mL can coconut milk

I didn’t have cardamom pods so 3 tsps of cardamom went in instead.
Towards the end I decided it needed something so a generous shaking of coriander and cumin (probably a tsp of each) went in also, along with some vegetable stock powder.
I probably used a tsp or more of cayenne pepper instead of chilli,
it ended up with a pleasant heat not too hot. This recipe is a bit like Korma.

Heat oil and fry the cinnamon, cloves and cardamom pods for 2 minutes.
Add chopped onion and fry until golden.
Add grated ginger and crushed garlic.
Add lamb, fry until sealed and browned.
Combine yoghurt with the turmeric and chilli powder and add to the lamb.
Make a paste of the almond meal with a little water, then add to the lamb.
Season with salt and pepper, cover with lid and simmer for approximately 15 minutes.
Stir in coconut milk.
Cover and simmer until lamb is tender, for 1-1½ hours.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

