RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Winter morning breakfasts

4 Comments

When I was little my Father and I used to ramble about on our property early in the mornings and gather mushrooms if we could find any. Due to the (I won’t say unique because there are ALL sorts of families out there) interesting make up of our family he and I were the only ones in the household that liked mushrooms. If we were lucky enough to come across them we would bring our bounty back to the kitchen and indulge in mushrooms on toast for breakfast. I have been eating mushrooms like this for all of my life and it never fails to take me back to those crispy, dewy, frosty mornings rambling around with my Dad. We didn’t really do too many things exclusively together but this is one of the things that we did at least a few times a year and I treasure that memory.

This can hardly be called a recipe but it is one of my favourite (and easiest) breakfasts. Memories aside, it just tastes wonderful!

Mushrooms on Toast

2 pieces of bread, toasted (whatever bread you like, used to be brown bread when I was growing up)
½ a small onion diced small
2 field mushrooms or a good couple of handfuls of buttons, diced
dash of salt
knob of butter (no margarine, its nasty)

Spread butter on your toast, yes butter this is good food, not health food.
Place (sounds better than dump) your onions in a small bowl with knob of butter.
Microwave on full for 1 min.
Add mushrooms, stir and microwave of full for another minute. Grind in a teeny amount of salt
and microwave for another 30 seconds.
Pour over your buttery toast and eat it.

Heavenly!

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

4 thoughts on “Winter morning breakfasts

  1. I’ve never had mushrooms on toast but it looks good.

  2. My brother grows mushrooms and made this for my mother one night. They live 3, 000 miles away but it sounded so good I wanted to crawl through the phone and try it. You’ve got me planning my next lunch. Any mushrooms okay?

Leave a Reply

