RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

What a find!

Leave a comment

Rummaging about in the freezer the other day I came upon this gem. How excited was I?

This, for those of you who can’t tell (just about everyone with my crappy photos), is a basil stuffed chicken breast. I actually made these a few weeks ago and haven’t posted them (for reasons unknown but guessing I’d say, laziness/forgetfulness), they were exceptional fresh from the oven. I had a lone leftover (actually I wrestled it from the grasps of the husband who was going back for 3rds) that I popped in the freezer, knowing I was going to be freezer diving for a few weeks in the near future.

And, tahdah!, from the depths of the freezer came something that wasn’t pasta, curry or casserole, to brighten my day. I teamed it with a little couscous and spinach, easy peasy and tasty.

I don’t always have everything for this recipe on hand but it is certainly worth making the effort once in a while, and it freezes really well.

Basil stuffed chicken
Serves 4

1/2 cup cream cheese
1/2 cup ricotta
1 Tbls chopped sundried tomatoes (I used sund dried tomato pesto I had on hand)
1 garlic clove crushed
1 Tbls chopped basil
4 large chicken breasts (of course I used chicken thighs and just wrapped them up)
2 large tomatoes
4 slices of prosciutto

Preheat oven to 220C.
Line a baking tray.
Combine first 5 ingredients in a bowl and season.
Slice each chicken breast to form a pocket.
Fill each breast with 1/4 of the cheese mixture.
Top with tomato slices and season.
Wrap each breast in a slice of prosciutto and secure with a tooth pick.
Drizzle with oil and bake for 20-25 mins.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

