RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

It’s raining in my head

Leave a comment

I am listening to 10hrs of rainfall – ambient sounds.

It beats listening to other people chattering on and blocks enough office sounds for me to concentrate on the 3000 word report I have to write today. I consider this a break from the mind bending legalise that I am having to spew forth onto paper at the minute. Writing in plain English is as restful to the mind as the pattering raindrop sounds gracing my ears.

Please, do me a favour, do yourself a favour and try this meal. Just thinking back on it makes me hungry.
It was simple to prepare and delicious to eat. Rustic and full of robust flavours and ingredients, I will make it again in a heartbeat .
I struggle to have a chorizo in the house for more than an hour without the husband devouring it but even he would step aside for a promise of this meal!
As you can see, this smelled so good coming out of the oven that I almost forgot to take a snapshot, this one was taken with a delectable mouthful on board, I could hardly bare to stop.

Spanish Chicken with Chorizo and Potatoes
Serves: 2-4

4 chicken thigh fillets, diced large
30 mL regular olive oil
1 Spanish chorizo, cut into 4 cm pieces
4 large potatoes, quartered
1 Spanish onions, cut into wedges
1 teaspoons dried oregano
Grated zest of 1/4 orange (I used a lemon)

Preheat oven to 220°C. Put the oil in the bottom of 1 shallow oven tray.
Rub the chicken in the oil, spread potatoes around the oven tray and rub the potatoes in the oil.
Spread the chorizo on the tray and add the onions into the gaps.
Sprinkle with oregano and orange zest.
Bake for 1 hour, basting with the orange juice at the bottom of the oven tray after 30 minutes.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

