RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Bread & Butter recipes

1 Comment

I have been hitting the books hard these past few weeks and while the rest of my life piles up around me like dirty washing I am getting some serious study time in. I hope to be finished my Diploma by the end of January. Then I might have time to cook again.

Meantime I have been living off of my freezer. There is definitely something to be said for my ‘cook too much and freeze the rest’ theory. It has enabled me to eat for weeks now without cooking anything, except for weekends when I try to take some time off.

Today I found 3 old bread rolls in the freezer and thought that it was time to cook something both fast and comforting. It is supposed to be coming into summer over here but the weather is all over the place and it is still raining on and off.

This is my go to recipe for old bread; I could eat this stuff all day, and frequently have.

Bread & Butter Pudding
Serves: 12 (bulldust, maybe 6)

6 slices old bread with crusts cut off (I used 3 hotdog rolls crusts on, sliced thick)
butter (enough to butter bread slices)
5 eggs
1 litre milk
1/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
sprinkle of nutmeg
1/3 cup sultanas (I used a handful of currants but I have left them out entirely before, still good)

Preheat oven to 160 degrees C .
Lightly grease a large baking dish.
Cut the crustless slices of buttered bread into triangles and lay in dish for the best fit.
In a large mixing bowl beat 5 eggs on a medium speed and add milk gradually.
Add vanilla essence and sugar and continue to mix for 1-2 minutes or until thoroughly mixed.
Pour mixture over the bread.
Sprinkle nutmeg on top.
Place in oven and cook for 60 minutes (check every now and again).

Eat hot, cold, with ice-cream, without, my husband likes it with a spoonful of apricot jam…however you like

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “Bread & Butter recipes

  1. Pingback: Bread Time Story

Leave a Reply

