RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Memory Lapse

1 Comment

I made this over a week ago when I had some asparagus handy, it was very good. I hunted high and low for the recipe so that I could post it and couldn’t locate it anywhere in my data base, it was a mystery… I found it over the weekend, in my kitchen, under a pile of random things, in a corner, in a magazine. Brilliant me had decided to cook it before typing it into my database, give it a go before doing the scut work so to speak, and then I forgot.

When I visit my Nan I get a snapshot of my future. She sits at the table and chats to me about something, then gets up to get it to show to me. It is literally 2 steps to her kitchen where she turns around and says to me ‘why am I here?’ I remind her; she goes to the cupboard (another 2 steps) and says to me ‘what am I looking for?’ This can go on for several minutes until she has what she was looking for. I am not quite so bad yet but I can see it coming, in a few years I will bend down to do up my laces and wonder what I am doing down there. Thank goodness my husband is 6 years younger than me; hopefully he can remind me what I am doing before I pass out from my head hanging down while I try to remember.

Hearty Chicken Casserole

Serves 6

2.2kg chicken pieces
1 large onion diced
4 cloves garlic crushed
2 Tbls plain flour
1 cup each white wine and chicken stock
2 bay leaves
1 tsp thyme
1/2 cup thickened cream
2 bunches asparagus cut into lengths

Heat olive oil in large pan and brown chicken in batches.
Remove from pan and keep warm.
Add onion and garlic to pan and cook until tender, add flour and cook for 1 min.
Stir in wine and bring to the boil, cook for 1 min.
Add stock bay leave and thyme and return chicken to pan with any juices.
Season with pepper and bring to the boil.
Reduce heat to low and simmer for 45 mins stirring occasionally.
Add cream and asparagus and cook uncovered for a further 10 mins.
Discard bay leaves and serve with rice or vegetables.

Note* I added more water than the recipe called for, it seemed to gluggy to simmer for
45 mins without sticking and burning.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “Memory Lapse

Leave a Reply

