RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Beef Chow Mein

Leave a comment

So, its been a while…
Life has been a bit frantic, and frankly, with everything else going on I really didn’t feel like writing in my (very limited) spare time.

Christmas has been and gone. Immediately prior to that we moved into a new home, well new for us… frankly, well lived in and left less than clean by the previous owners. Lots of elbow grease and vanilla scented cleaning spray later things have come together quite nicely. The best bit is my bottom draw, where I keep my glass bowls, mixers etc, after 5 weeks it still smells of vanilla each time I open it. It immediately gets me in the mood for baking even if I wasn’t to begin with.

So what with moving, cleaning, house guests, Christmas, house guests, cleaning, studying, job hunting and life in general I am a walking migraine with a spell check dependence. Actually my head has been behaving itself lately, up until the past 2 days. It gave me a terrific break over the festive season which I appreciated by working myself half to death squaring the house away. Anyway, thank you Microsoft, for spell check, it is the only thing keeping my post from being completely undecipherable.

I have cooked lots of new things recently, with varying degrees of success. Last night was Beef Chow Mein. Super simple and not too shabby on the tastiness meter either. Enjoyed even by my husband, even though he was warned about the high cabbage content (a vegetable, and green to boot, therefore to be despised!). I shall put this in the ‘possibly again’ pile. By the way, it doesn’t look too appetising, but hey, you are just going to chew it up and swallow it anyway, this almost looks like someone has done the chewing for you already… Urrrk!

Chow Mein
Serves: 4

500 g mince meat
1 packet chicken 2min noodles, crushed
3 cups hot water
½ teaspoon curry powder
3 tablespoons soy sauce
3 tablespoons tomato sauce
2 tablespoons uncooked rice
½ cabbage, shredded
1 cup French beans (I left them out, didn’t have any to hand)
2 onions, sliced (I used 1 onion)
1 carrot, diced
Salt and pepper (*seemed to need tons of salt which surprised me)

Brown the mince in a large pan.
Add water and noodles, including seasoning packet, and bring to the boil.
Add all other ingredients and simmer until vegetables are tender.

*I say ‘tons’ because I rarely cook with much salt and only add a little if required. I had to add a little 3 times to this recipe for it to taste right to me. It was probably the sweetness of the tomato sauce that made it so hard to judge.

*Update: Talking of even the cabbage despising husband tucking into this, he actually reheated some the next day and made toasted sandwiches. What a winner!

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

