RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

2 chicken recipes

1 Comment

I made the below recipe to use up the abundance of fresh basil that I have in my garden. When we moved, one of the first things I did was plant a little veggie/herb garden. Now, 5 weeks later, I have enough herbs to chop and freeze the excess and my cherry tomato plants are just producing flowers. I’m so excited! I talk to my veggies, I go out at least once a day and just hang out with them. They make me happy. They respond to my attention by growing well and thriving, or it could just be the cow poo… Anyway, they make me happy and I like to think the feeling is reciprocated.

The original recipe had a LOT more butter in it, I went with it but decided to dial it down when I saved it for myself. You need to butter in there as a carrier, but it needn’t dominate the whole dish.

Below this recipe is one I made last night.  It was really good, but I forgot to take a photo. I get hungry and everything else goes out the window! Super fragrant and Thai like, without the coriander, but feel free to toss some in if you are a fan, it would work…I just hate the stuff.

Basil Chicken

3/4 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
4 skinless chicken thigh fillets, chopped
1/4 cup freshly chopped basil leaves, plus
2 tablespoons freshly minced basil leaves
1 Tbls butter, melted, plus
2 Tbls butter, at room temperature
1 tablespoon grated Parmesan
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
Fresh basil springs, optional

Press the coarsely ground pepper into the thigh fillet pieces.
Stir the chopped basil into the melted butter.
Brush the chicken lightly with this mixture.
Cook chicken as desired (I used a fry pan on the stove) basting frequently with the remaining melted butter mixture.
In a small bowl, combine the softened butter, minced basil, Parmesan, garlic powder, salt, and pepper.
Beat at low speed with an electric mixer (a fork will do) until smoothly blended.
Cook 2 cups of white rice, stir through the butter mixture.
Serve chicken on a mound of rice.

Thai Chicken pinwheels with Thai Seasoning

4 chicken breast fillets (I ALWAYS use thighs)
1 tsp crushed garlic
1 tsp crushed ginger
1 tsp mild chilli
1 tsp lemon grass paste
salt and pepper to season
2 kaffir lime leaves finely diced (optional, go for it though, they are honestly great)
150 ml coconut cream
2 cups of jasmine rice (to serve)

Put the rice on to cook.
Cut the breasts in half lengthways and then flatten with a mallet. (or just smash the chicken thighs a bit until flattish)
Mix the garlic, ginger, chilli and lemon grass into a fragrant, amazing, ‘can’t stop sniffing it’ paste.
spread each of the breasts with one tsp of the paste and then roll up like a Swiss Roll, place in a greased loaf tin or deep baking dish.
Drizzle with the coconut cream and the lime leaves (chop them really tiny, they are a bit woody otherwise) and then bake for about 20 minutes until browned.
Serve with jasmine rice. (I use jasmine rice for everything, can’t go past that fragrance)

*Note: buy a packet of kaffir lime leaves and bung them in the freezer. They freeze really well.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “2 chicken recipes

  1. Pingback: 2 chicken recipes | Vote-Often.com

Leave a Reply

