RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Plum cake

1 Comment

The day after the carrot cake, yes it only lasted one day, don’t judge me…
It was time for something sweet after dinner.
I had plums in the fridge so I could have eaten them just as they were, but where is the fun in that?

I tried out this recipe, it was nutty and dense and went perfectly with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream (although there are not many desserts/cakes that don’t)
The recipe said that it was best within a few hours of baking. I am not sure I agree. Admittedly the top was crunchy and sugary when eaten immediately but the plums were astonishingly sour (I swear they were not that tart when I cut them up). 2 days after baking, although the crunch was gone the tartness of the plums had toned down to a more fruity level and I would have still been happy to serve this cake to guests, or keep it for myself. Either way it was good, if it lasts 2 days, don’t limit yourself, have another slice!

Plum Cake

1 cup unblanched almonds
1/2 cup sugar, plus about
1/4 cup for topping
1/3 cup plain flour
1/8 tsp salt
2 large eggs
1/2 cup milk
4 Tbls butter, melted
1kg plums, pitted and sliced thickly.

Preheat oven to 180C. Butter 25cm tart pan or springform pan.
Put almonds and ½ cup sugar in blender or food processor and pulse until nuts are finely ground. Add flour and salt and pulse once more. Transfer mixture to bowl.
Beat eggs with milk and stir in melted butter.
Add egg mixture to almond mixture and whisk for a minute or two until batter is smooth.
Pour batter into pan and smooth with spatula. Arrange plum slices on top in circular pattern. Sprinkle sugar generously over plums. (use the whole ¼ cup, those little suckers get so so sour!)
Bake for 40 to 45 minutes, until top is golden and knife inserted into centre comes out clean.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “Plum cake

  1. I’m not big on sour but glad it turned out well at a fruitier level. I like my fruit sweet.

Leave a Reply

