RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Summer dessert

3 Comments

Yes, okay, it does look like a spoon full of filler foam, no that is not what it is. What it actually is is Pineapple Mousse, my answer to providing something ‘light’ for dessert on Christmas day this past year. For all those who can’t handle a hot roast dinner and hot Christmas pudding and custard in 40C heat, this is my answer. Light and fruity, creamy and cold, it seemed to go down alright with the locals.

Meanwhile I will stare at pictures of snow falling in the less temperate climes and wonder what a white Christmas must be like as I wipe sweat off my forehead in the kitchen, checking the roast, on my way out to the pool…

Pineapple Mousse
Serves: 6

1 x 375 g can evaporated milk, chilled
1 packet lemon jelly crystals
1 x 450 g tin crushed pineapple

Drain pineapple well, reserving juice.
Heat juice and dissolve jelly crystals in it. Set aside until just starting to set.
Beat chilled evaporated milk until very frothy and thick.
Beat in jelly mixture and pineapple pulp.
Set in refrigerator for at least 2 hours.

Try using other flavours like Port wine Jelly and tinned cherries, strawberry jelly and tinned fruit salad.
I’ve been told that light evaporated milk doesn’t seem to work as well.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

3 thoughts on “Summer dessert

  1. Wow is it really that hot where you are? I had to look up the conversion of C to F to see what that meant in my temperature zone. Oh, how I wish for those temperatures right now. I’ll take that over the bloody weather we’ve been dealing with.

    • Been pretty steamy over the past few weeks! We never get it really cold here. I’ve never even seen snow first hand, through binoculars once but I was overseas at the time so that hardly counts. We cope with the heat because we are used to it but if it ever got below 0C I think we’d all curl up and refuse to get out of bed. All respect to those countries that keep on functioning in sub arctic temperatures!

Leave a Reply

