RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Chocolate Rough Squares

Leave a comment

As you know by now, I have a soft spot for any recipe that meets both my ease and taste criteria. Although I don’t mind fiddling with a complicated recipe once in a while, I prefer my day to day cooking to be as straight forward and, of course, as tasty as possible. This one hit the mark in every way. It was one of those ‘might as well try it, the kids will eat it even if it is just okay’ kind of recipes that you just cannot believe how good it really is, considering it took you such little effort.

I made this on one of those stereotypical ‘I just want to sit on the couch and each cheesecake’ kind of days. It wasn’t cheesecake but it might be my next new ‘go to’ when I have a day like that.

Chocolate Rough Squares

Base
1 packet Marie biscuits
1 x 400 g tin condensed milk
1 cup coconut
1½ tablespoons cocoa
55 g butter (melted)
Topping
55 g copha
200 g milk chocolate (I used ‘top deck’ the store was out of plain milk chocolate)

Base: Process biscuits to fine mixture.
Add cocoa, coconut and mix through.
Add condensed milk and melted butter and press mixture into a foil lined 28 cm x 18 cm lamington tray.
Place in refrigerator whilst making topping.
Topping: Microwave the copha and chocolate together and pour over base.
Place in refrigerator to set.

Keep in the fridge once you have cut it. Your topping is likely to melt.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

