RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Mushrooms as big as your head

Leave a comment

I made these an age ago. We had a BBQ and I wanted something different to have along with meat and salad. My daughter was home and my son was coming down, perfect time to whip out a mushroom recipe while there would be more than just me to eat it. The picture is pre baking, there wasn’t any time to take a photo afterward, they were whipped of the dish and down the hatch. This is the best stuffed mushroom recipe I have tried so far and as you can see, we didn’t scrip on the size of the mushrooms.

Stuffed Mushrooms

Serves: 4

12 large button mushrooms (I used 3 massive mushrooms)
1 rasher bacon, chopped
2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon stale breadcrumbs
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons red wine (the red wine sounded weird to me but i am glad I used it, it added a real depth)
¼ teaspoon dried mixed herbs
Salt and pepper

Wipe mushrooms with a cloth and remove stems.
Finely chop stems and add to medium bowl with other ingredients.
Stir well to combine. Mixture should just hold together without being wet.
Using a dessertspoon, pile the mixture onto the mushrooms, pressing down firmly.
Hold mushrooms in one hand over the mixing bowl so any excess mixture falls back into bowl.
Bake in 160°C oven for approximately 45 minutes. The mushrooms will shrink slightly.
Can be served hot or at room temperature. Try varying the cheese to your taste.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

