RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Evolution in the kitchen

1 Comment

Here is an example of how recipes change while in my kitchen. They evolve in ways that I don’t expect but mostly seem to work. It is all about what you know you like and what you have on hand.

This was originally a burger recipe, to me it was too wet. It tasted good but needed lots of breadcrumbs to hold it together (not included in the original recipe) then it stuck to my pan. In the end it tasted good, I had mix left over, what to do with it? A few months back my husband and I went through a sausage roll phase, we must have tried 6 different recipes one after the other, trying to find the perfect one (we never did by the way). So I thought, what the hell, give it a go and the below recipe was born.

These were so good I never even got one. So it is not really my experience actually eating one that recommends them to you it is the fact that my family devoured the whole batch, without me even getting a look in, that recommends them. At least they can’t be bad….

Chicken, Cheese and Sundried Tomato Sausage Rolls

½ cup drained sun-dried tomatoes
1 onion, roughly chopped
500 g chicken mince
¼ cup cheddar cheese, grated
½ cup (85 ml) sour cream
2-3 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
2 tablespoons Parsley or Basil (or a combination of both)
1½ teaspoons Garlic
½ cup breadcrumbs
Salt & Pepper to taste
6 sheets puff pastry, halved lengthways

Process sun-dried tomatoes and onion together in a food processor until quite pasty. Add cheese and sour cream and process until well mixed. Add all other ingredients, barring chicken mince, and pulse until well incorporated.
Transfer to a bowl and mix with the chicken mince stirring well.
Refrigerate for 15 minutes to firm up the mix to make it easier to handle.
Heat the oven to 180C.
Shape a sausage of chicken mince down the middle of half a sheet of pastry. Fold sides over to form a sausage roll.
Place, seam down on a greased baking pan. Brush with milk and sprinkle with sesame seeds if desired.
Repeat with remaining pastry strips and chicken mince.
Cook until golden brown.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “Evolution in the kitchen

  1. I love when you can change a recipe and it turns out fabulous.

Leave a Reply

