RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Making coffee good

Leave a comment

Premixed mocha coffee sachets. My husband has a former addiction to them. I say former because he refuses to let me buy them; his reasoning, instant coffee is 4 times cheaper per cup. So with that incentive I went hunting for an alternative and came up with the following recipe. It turns out there are tonnes of recipes on the internet for this kind of thing, I think I might have found/adapted a good one right from the get go. A lot of the recipes call for non-dairy creamer as well as milk powder, I didn’t want to do that so I mixed and matched a few recipes and here is what I got.

Dry Mocha Powder

1 cup instant coffee
1 cup granulated sugar
2 cups powdered milk
4 teaspoons cocoa powder

Put all the ingredients into a food processor and blend until powder consistency.

This made about 4 cups (duh) but you use 2 dessert spoons for a cup of coffee so I doubt it will last too long. It is strong (the way I like coffee) and not too cloyingly sweet (good because I don’t usually drink sugar in my coffee. Most importantly my husband likes it and although I didn’t bother to work out the cost I will assume (because it suits me too) that it is cheaper than the packaged stuff (and I got to try a new recipe!).

Teamed with the following recipe it is a real winner!

Easiest Mud Cake
Serves: 16 (hahahaha)

1½ cups hot water
250 g butter
200 g dark cooking chocolate
¼ cup cocoa
2 cups caster sugar
2 eggs, beaten lightly
2 teaspoons vanilla essence
1½ cups self-raising flour

In a saucepan over low heat melt together, butter, cocoa, chocolate, sugar, vanilla and hot water. When cooled add flour and eggs and mix well. The mixture will be very runny.
Pour into a lined 30 cm cake tin and bake at 150°C for 1 hour and 15 minutes.
(or screw up and leave your oven on 180C like I did, only takes 50mins at that rate…)
Allow to cool for 5 minutes before turning out.
When cool sprinkle with icing sugar. (I just sprinkle each piece when I serve)
Serve hot or cold with or without large scoops of ice cream or cream.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

