RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Strawberry season

Leave a comment

It is strawberry season here and my mother is overrun with little sweet morsels of goodness. Unfortunately I live over 5 hours away from her so I have to settle with what I can purchase in a punnet from the local supermarket. Needless to say they are not quite as good as home grown but if you get the urge to indulge in something creamy and fruity, then they will have to do.

I love these glasses by the way, they make a wonderful dessert glass but I only have 5 now, thanks to my lovely son who, in his youth, felt that drinking water from a wine glass made him feel special. Needless to say it ended badly but it makes me think of him and smile every time I bring them out to serve a dessert.

Strawberry Mousse

Serves: 6-8

1 punnet strawberries
2 teaspoons water
1 teaspoon gelatine
2 egg whites
½ cup caster sugar
1½ cups cream
1 tablespoon lemon juice

Wash and hull strawberries, mash well.
Add gelatine to water, stand for 5 minutes, dissolve over hot water. (or microwave for 10-20 secs)
Beat egg whites until soft peaks form, then gradually add sugar beating until dissolved.
Whip cream until soft peaks form.
Fold in egg white mixture.
Add strawberries, lemon juice and gelatine, and fold in lightly.
Refrigerate until set.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

