RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Cucumber Rescue

Leave a comment

As the lucky recipient of a bag full of cucumbers from my Mother’s garden I needed to find a recipe to make something a little more interesting than sliced cucumber this weekend. Twice this weekend I ended up entertaining impromptu with not very much in the house, the cucumbers needed to pull their weight as a standalone salad which is something I had never asked of them before. I must say, they did admirably and I shan’t put up with any excuses in future that it isn’t their job or they can’t manage.
With an Asian bent this cucumber salad is refreshing and a little spicy.

Ginger-Spiced Cucumbers

1/4 cup seasoned rice vinegar
1/4 cup sweet sherry
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
2 tsp grated fresh ginger
1 large English cucumber, peeled if desired, and thinly sliced
1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion

In a medium bowl combine rice vinegar, sherry, brown sugar, and ginger. Stir in cucumber and onion slices. Cover and chill for 30 minutes. Serve with a slotted spoon.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

