RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Chicken and Cheese Empanadas

1 Comment

A while back I posted about wrapping things in pastry. This is one of those recipes that I was looking for to include. I was unable to find it at the time but as I have just stumbled upon it I thought I would quickly post it up here today, before I lose it again. Of course there are no pictures to go along with this, if I am honest I will tell you that I didn’t make cute little mouthful, bite sized empanadas (as described below) when I made them, I just stuffed the lot into triangle cut pastry sheets. We ate them as a meal and I think everyone devoured 2 of them each anyway. Maybe one day I will make and eat them properly, delicately, like a lady… but that isn’t likely to be today.

Chicken & Cheese Empanadas

3 cups chopped, cooked chicken
225g pkg shredded cheese (whatever tasty cheese you have)
110g cream cheese, softened
1 chopped red bell pepper
1 or 2 jalapenos, seeded and chopped (I left these out, the taco spice was spicy enough for the kids)
1 Tbsp taco seasoning blend
425g package short pastry sheets
Water
1 egg, lightly beaten

Preheat oven to 190C. In a large bowl, combine the chicken, shredded cheese, cream cheese, red pepper, jalapeno, and taco seasoning. Remove 1 pastry sheet from plastic wrap & place on a lightly floured surface; cut out rounds, using a 8cm cookie cutter.
Re-roll dough as needed. Repeat procedure with remaining pastry, making 12 to 15 circles total. Arrange 1 round on a clean, flat surface.
Using a pastry brush, lightly brush the edges of crust with water. Place 1 heaping teaspoon of chicken mixture in the center of the round. Fold the dough over the filling, pressing the edges with a fork to seal.
Repeat with the remaining rounds and chicken mixture. Place empanadas on a lightly greased baking sheet. Brush tops with beaten egg. Bake at 190C for 20 to 30 minutes or until golden brown.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “Chicken and Cheese Empanadas

  1. I can relate to NOT eating properly like a lady. Especially when I’m starving. Lol.

Leave a Reply

