RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Caramel Date Bars

Leave a comment

This tasted a bit like sticky date pudding without the sticky. It had a cakey/biscuity crumbly texture, dryer than the pudding variety. The nuts were best on the first day, toasty and delicious.

I like dates, they look like squished bush cockroaches but they taste really good, I love it when they get kind of candied…mmm. Not that I am authority on the taste of cockroaches, I have seen them eaten by the odd person on the Food Channel but am not about to rid my local park of their pest problem by chowing down myself. I’ll stick to my dates thank you very much. I’ll save the bug eating for the apocalypse, don’t want to run out beforehand now do we?

Caramel Date Bars

½ cup butter or margarine
¾ cup brown sugar
1 egg
½ cup chopped dates
½ cup chopped walnuts
1 cup self-raising flour
Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 180°C.
Grease or line a cake pan with baking paper.
Melt butter and sugar over slow heat. Mix well and allow to cool.
Beat egg and add to the butter and sugar.
In a separate bowl, add dates, walnuts and flour.
Add the egg, butter and sugar mixture to the dry ingredients and mix until smooth.
Press mixture into cake pan and bake for 20-30 minutes.
Allow to cool in pan. Cut into finger lengths.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

