RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Banana pudding and a shout out for caffeine

Leave a comment

Singing the praises of a stodgy English pudding 🙂
This dish sounded interesting to me from the get go, particularly because I have bags of sliced and frozen bananas in the freezer waiting to be made into something sweet and gooey at the first opportunity.

This recipe reminds me (in texture) of many savoury English puddings but, of course, the flavour was something completely different. I expect that this would go very well with a good dollop of clotted cream or some good vanilla ice cream but it was very good just on its own. Although I followed the recipe on this one, I would suggest that there could have been less butter, it seemed a bit much to me, maybe half the amount would do? I used less sugar on top than the recipe called for, maybe 1/3 cup.

All in all a great way to use up bananas that are past their prime as long as you have a lot of eggs on your hands at the same time.

Baked Banana Pudding

6 servings

1 cup plus 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
6 Tbls all-purpose flour
6 large eggs
1 cup milk
2 Tbls vanilla extract
3/4 tsp salt
3 large bananas, cut into 1cm slices
3 Tbls butter, cut into bits

Preheat oven to 205C.
In a blender puree together 1/3 cup of sugar, flour, eggs, milk, vanilla and salt until mixture is smooth.
Arrange banana slices in one layer in a buttered square glass baking dish. Pour pudding mixture over bananas and bake on the middle rack of the oven for 20 minutes, or until the top is puffed and springy to the touch.
Sprinkle top with remaining sugar, dot with the butter and broil the pudding under a preheated broiler about 6cm from the heat for 1 to 2 minutes, or until it is browned.

By the way, as an infrequent indulger in caffeine, I will sing its praises to the heavens when it comes to helping treat long term migraines. It doesn’t always work for everyone but when it does it is like a unexpected blessing sent to ease your suffering.  After 5 days of a debilitating migraine I ended up with a sugary caffeinated soft drink in my hand on the couch. Within minutes my symptoms eased. I should have thought of it earlier, I have suffered from migraines for years, but they don’t call it a fog for nothing. Sometimes it is hard to think around the pain.
Like I say, it doesn’t always work but when it does….there are just not words. It is certainly worth trying. For more on migraines click here for a good article to get you started. If you don’t suffer, it might help you understand friends or family that do, if you do, then it might give you some tips on how to cope.

Happy Days!

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

