RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Confectionary

Leave a comment

Confectionary is not something I have taken the time to thoroughly explore in a cooking sense. I dabbled a bit when I was younger but nothing since my teens really. Reason? Confectionary is so easy and cheap to buy, there just doesn’t seem to be an enormous point in making your own. Just occasionally though, a recipe looks like a winner and you find yourself having to try, regardless of the ease of buying something fairly good from the supermarket.

Now I have had many things sold to me under the guise of fudge, so many things in fact that I find that I am not even sure what fudge is. I have had every kind of crumbly, sugary, hard, brittle, soft, chewy, smooth, grainy confection sold to me as fudge and there seems to be no relation, one to another, excepting the high sugar content. I am not here to knock any of these products, they all had their attractions, some more than others, and I enjoy the convenience of being able to purchase decent confectionary easily.

This recipe though, makes me want to run out and start a confectionary company of my own. It MUST be shared with as many people as possible, it is really so good. As for texture, this little number is more reminiscent of a very soft toffee than anything else in my opinion, although this texture may change if you cook it a little longer than I did. Definitely a ‘store in the fridge’ confection. A tray is a whole lot of fudge when you are trying to find appropriate containers for the refrigerator but it disappears quickly (at least around me). You could just as easily leave the nuts out if you are not fond of them but I think they are a tasty addition.

Caramel Macadamia Fudge

125g butter
1 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
395g condensed milk
2 Tbls liquid glucose
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup chopped macadamias

Line a 16 x 26cm pan with baking paper.
Place butter, sugars, milk and glucose on a small saucepan.
Stir over medium heat until melted.
Reduce heat to low and stir for 20 mins until thickened and a deep caramel colour.
Be careful mixture does not stick.
Stir in vanilla and macadamias.
Pour into tin and tap firmly to remove air bubbles.
Cool for 1 hr and refrigerate for a further 2hrs or overnight.
Cut into squares using a hot knife.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

