RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

No Bake Hazelnut Caramel Slice

Leave a comment

You have probably noticed the caramel trend lately and just as obvious the nut trend. Not my fault, I just had a lot of nutty caramel recipes but I am hardly complaining. Nuts are one of my favourite things. I am coming to the end of my caramel slice recipes now. I only have another 4 or so to try out. I am so glad to have come across this one though. Oh, this was divine. I will most definitely make this one again.
I toasted my hazelnuts in the microwave, which worked surprisingly well.
Even my husband, not a nut fan, loves this one and the nuts are glaringly obvious.

Next in line are all of my chocolate slice recipes so I am very much looking forward to moving on to the next folder in my collection.

Really though, you have to give this a try. Not even any baking to do…

Hazelnut Caramel Slice

125 g butter
100 g white cooking chocolate
150 g Marie biscuits
150 g hazelnuts, toasted, skins removed
1 x 400 g can sweetened condensed milk
50 g butter
2 tablespoons golden syrup
200 g dark cooking chocolate
75 g copha

Line the base of a 18 cm x 23 cm lamington pan with baking paper. Overlap paper a little at opposite long ends.
Place butter and white chocolate into a small saucepan over low heat. Stir constantly until melted and smooth. Cool slightly.
Place biscuits and half the hazelnuts into a food processor and process until smooth.
Add butter mixture and mix well.
Press biscuit mixture over the base of tin. Refrigerate for 20 minutes.
Combine condensed milk, butter and golden syrup in a medium saucepan over low heat.
Stir constantly until butter melts and mixture just comes to the boil, thickens and turns golden. Remove from the heat and stir in remaining hazelnuts.
Working quickly, spread the hot caramel mixture over the chilled base. Refrigerate.
Combine chocolate and copha in a small saucepan over low heat.
Stir constantly until melted and smooth.
Spread over the chilled slice and refrigerate until set.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

