RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Caramel Walnut Slice and Sleep Deprivation

Leave a comment

For whatever reason, I am not sleeping. Don’t get me wrong, I really, really want to but I am just not able to stay asleep at night. I wake up every two hours or so, spend some time awake, fall asleep again only to wake up 2 hours after I last woke. I generally don’t sleep fantastically but this is ridiculous. I have gone from a mainly caffeine free diet over the past 2 days to functioning only with the help of strong black coffee (which is probably not helping me sleep either although I do try to cut out the coffee after midday)it is a vicious cycle. I have done all the dietary things and the good sleep hygiene practises to no avail. I feel like a barely functioning zombie, if I don’t sleep tonight then it is off to the doc I go for some chemical help just to get some rest.

Just went to the loo (because black coffee will do that to you) and almost fell asleep reading my Twitter feed (as we all do in the toilet). Honestly? Is there a reason that sleep is not an option at 2 in the morning but at 9.30am with a system full of coffee it is all I can do to NOT fall asleep? *shakes fist at the universe*

Meanwhile I have made another slice, caramel of course. This slice was not my favourite out of the caramel collection but it is still a tasty slice that deserves to be shared, if you like walnuts then it will be right up your alley. It is sweet and nutty, a lot less ‘full on caramel’ than most of what I have made lately. It was a little tricky to get out of the pan as the base is thin but solid and the topping is delicate and soft but with perseverance I managed to get it out with a minimum of damage.

Caramel Walnut Slice

Base
1/2 cup self-raising flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup coconut
60g butter

Topping
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup coconut
90g walnut pieces
1 1/2 cups brown sugar, lightly packed
1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Base: Sift flour into bowl, add sugar and coconut, mix well.
Melt butter over low heat, add to dry ingredients, mix well.
Press mixture into greased 28cm x 18cm lamington tin, bake in moderate oven 15 minutes.
Topping: Lightly beat eggs and vanilla with fork, add coconut, chopped walnuts, brown sugar, baking powder, mix well.
Spread mixture over partly cooked base, return to moderate oven and bake further 25 to 30 minutes or until topping is cooked.
Cool in tin; cut into squares or slices.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

