RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

My Kitchen Garden

1 Comment

This is a photo of my very compact vegetable/herb garden outside my kitchen window. There is a little more to it, mostly in pots about the place but this gives you an idea of the space I have and what I am trying to do with it. I love to spend time outside pottering with my herbs and vegetables. In addition to what you see here I have 2 huge pots of catnip that I use for tea and also to enrich my cats lives (they adore it) as well as a lemon grass plant, cat grass, cat mint, mint, sage and rosemary as well as basil and capsicum/pepper plants and spring onions. You can see in the photo that my parsley, chives and thyme are thriving on top of my wall and my new broccoli and silver beet plants are coming along nicely. I still have some tomatoes ripening from the summer season; it will be a few weeks before I am ready to pull the plants to make room for something else.

I find it very therapeutic to spend time outside with my plants and it never ceases to surprise me what you can fit into limited space on a suburban block. I have a worm farm also and they enjoy helping me recycle all my vegetable scraps as well as helping with the out of season vegetable plants that need to be disposed of. Once in a while my husband takes some of them fishing, so they serve a dual purpose.

In addition to the calming and relaxing atmosphere my garden provides me with, I also enjoy the opportunity to harvest my own fresh vegetables and herbs. Cooking with fresh herbs from the garden is a real ‘feel good’ experience for me and I am so grateful that in such a small space I have found a way to make it possible, in fact I have much more than I need and am constantly able to harvest and freeze my herbs or distributing them to friends and family as needed. With the limited space I have my vegetables are more of a supplementary source than an alternative to the supermarket but it does bring a certain satisfaction just being able to harvest the occasional meal.

I am lucky enough to live in a climate where I can grow something or another year round.
If you are lucky enough to have a little space and you have the time, energy and desire, I highly recommend getting a little dirt under your fingernails and growing something green that you can use in your kitchen. There is great enjoyment in the process and great satisfaction in the results.

Happy gardening!

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “My Kitchen Garden

Leave a Reply

