RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Tim Tam Cheesecake

Leave a comment

Tim Tams, Australia’s great iconic biscuit favourite. Dare I admit that I don’t actually like them very much? I am not a great fan. Of course as a dyed in the wool chocolate fan, I wouldn’t knock one back if offered but it isn’t something I’d normally buy or hoard in a secret stash to be enjoyed as a guilty pleasure.

That said I purchased 2 packets recently because I found a Tim Tam cheese cake recipe and you have to try these things. Later in the week I went and bought another packet as my grazing family got to the Tim Tams before I had a chance to use them. After reinstating the ‘don’t touch anything in my baking basket’ rule I managed to buy a few more days grace (only with constant reinforcement) before I made the cheesecake over the weekend.

Needless to say a creamy, sweet, chunky chocolate cheesecake was a success. Very rich though, you only want a small slice at a time. If you are a Tim Tam fan you will enjoy this one, if you are not then it won’t thrill you to the core but is a perfectly pleasant experience all the same.

Click here to go to the original recipe.

Tim Tam Cheesecake
Serves: 12

350 g Tim Tam biscuits
80 g butter, melted
375 g cream cheese, cubed and softened
½ cup caster sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 cup thickened cream
3 teaspoons powdered gelatine, dissolved in ¼ cup boiling water
200 g white chocolate, melted, cooled

Place 250 g of the Tim Tams in a blender and process into fine crumbs.
Add the butter and process to combine. Press the mixture into spring-form baking pan and refrigerate 30 minutes.
Beat the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla with an electric mixer until smooth, then beat in the cream. Stir in the gelatine mixture and white chocolate.
Chop the remaining biscuits and stir into the cream cheese mixture then pour over the Tim Tam base.
Cover and refrigerate until set.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

