RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Fungi pies for one

2 Comments

This was just waiting for my husband to be away. He HATES mushrooms, go figure.
I went to the supermarket last week and mushrooms were on special, half price in fact, so 1 ½ kg of them found their way into my basket (don’t ever say I don’t do things in the extreme). I knew I had a week coming up when the husband would be absent so a plan was hatched to enjoy some mushroom pies while he was gone. I have a pie maker so it makes the casing in pastry bit really easy.

By mushroom pies I don’t mean beef and mushroom or chicken and mushroom, these were to be full on, nothing but, good old fungus pies. Oh and they are delicious, good hot, surprisingly good cold too. The husband has been warned not to attempt to touch any homemade pies he comes across in the freezer when he arrives home, they will NOT be to his liking.

This recipe made 24 pies so I had enough to freeze for a later easy dinner item, meat pie for him, mushroom pie for me. Perfect!

Mushroom Pies

1 1/2kg mushrooms, sliced (do it with a food processor for goodness sake!)
4 onions, diced
50 g butter
2 tsps dry vegetable stock
2 tsps cornflour
½ cup water
salt & pepper
1 good bunch of parsley (from the garden), chopped
12 sheets of store bought puff pastry

Microwave the onions in the butter for 2 mins (or cook them in a big pot, I would have but I’d already dumped my mushrooms in it before I decided I needed the onion).
Place (maybe not dump) your mushrooms in a large pot along with the onions and butter.
Cook over a low heat until the mushrooms reduce and go soft.
Stir the stock and cornflour into the water and add to the mushrooms, stirring constantly.
Season with salt and pepper and stir in the parsley.
If you are lucky enough to have a pie maker then each sheet of pastry will make 2 pies. If not then make small or large pies as you desire.
Bake in the oven at 180C until golden brown.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

2 thoughts on “Fungi pies for one

  1. Love mushrooms and love when the partner goes away as I can also eat whatever I want! 😀

Leave a Reply

