RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Crockpot cooking

2 Comments

I have dragged the crockpot out this week. I am not generally a huge fan of the slow cooker but we have a houseful of people this week and lots to do so I find it takes the stress out of making sure dinner is prepared on time if I do it at breakfast time. The meals are hearty and I am learning how to make them flavourful (my biggest beef with the slow cooker is that the recipes I had tried in the past didn’t suit my palate and seemed very tasteless) and with the addition of rice or pasta they fill everyone up nicely.
Last nights meal was Creamy Parmesan Chicken. It wasn’t bad. Of course I used cream of chicken soup to replace the cream of mushroom (husband is back home, sometimes I’ll be sneaky and use the mushroom anyway but I was feeling kind) and I didn’t have any celery salt so I omitted that.

I’ll be trying out a few more crockpot/slow cooker recipes this week. I’ll keep you posted, at least I will if they are any good…

Creamy Parmesan Chicken in the crockpot

4 Chicken thighs, boneless and skinless, chopped (I had 6 for 5 people)
1 Can 300g Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup  (I used cream of chicken)
1 Can 300g Condensed Cream of Celery Soup
1/2 Cup Sherry
1/4 Cup Parmesan Cheese, (with extra set aside for garnish)
2-1/2 Tbs Lemon Juice
1 Tbs Paprika
1/4 tsp Garlic Powder, or to taste
1/4 tsp Onion Powder, or to taste
1/4 tsp Salt, or to taste
1/8 tsp Pepper, or to taste
1/8 tsp Celery Salt  (didn’t have)

Arrange chicken in crock-pot.  In mixing bowl, combine soups, sherry, seasonings and cheese; mix well.  Pour over chicken.
Cover and cook on Low for 6 hours or on High for 3 hours. Serve with rice or noodles with extra Parmesan Cheese for garnish, if desired.
This would go great with mashed potatoes, too.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

2 thoughts on “Crockpot cooking

  1. Great recipe! Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

