RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Crock Pot Cheese Pie

3 Comments

I wondered at the name ‘cheese pie’ until I had made this recipe. This is clearly a macaroni cheese recipe, where the pie comes in I didn’t know. As it turns out this is a firm recipe that could very easily be sliced and served as opposed to spooned out, hence the ‘pie’ I guess.

As I was out of paprika I substituted some Mexican chilli powder which I found added some welcome spice to an otherwise fairly bland dish. Luckily the kids are happy with spicy and all love macaroni cheese anyway so this was a hit.

It is a quick recipe for the slow cooker, only 4 hours, and I think it would be an easy way to prepare a side dish while you spent more quality time on the star of the show.

 

Crock Pot Cheese Pie

225g macaroni, cooked and drained
1 can evaporated milk
1 1/2 cup milk
2 eggs
1/2 cup melted butter (I used a bit less)
2 cup sharp cheese
1 cup mild cheese

Grease crock pot with 2 tablespoons oil. Add all ingredients and mix.
Cut thin slices of cheese and put on top. Sprinkle with paprika if desired.
(I sprinkled with Mexican Chilli Powder, it was a nice addition of spice)
Cook 3-4 hours on low.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

3 thoughts on “Crock Pot Cheese Pie

  1. LOL, I like your “pie” explanation! 😉

Leave a Reply

