RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Fancy midweek dinner

2 Comments

Last nights dinner was a fancy one. I have never cooked a lamb rack before and was somewhat nervous about the whole thing. Funny, even when you have cooked a myriad of different things all of your life, simple things can be daunting, just because they are new to you.

Not to be put off I searched though my recipes until I found one that spoke to me and off I went to the garden. I love to use as many fresh herbs as I can in our food, it gets me out into the garden to ‘talk’ to my plants and give me a few quiet moments in a place I very much enjoy being.

Herbs gathered it was a mammoth chopping session to get them all cut up fine enough to press onto the meat, everything else was in the fridge or the cupboard (it’s good to have a well-stocked pantry). I put a little foil ‘stocking’ over the bones to prevent burning and got to pressing the herb mixture on the meat. Half way through I considered throwing away the meat and just pressing the herb mix straight on myself, it smelt so good, I just wanted to jump in and bath in it. That impulse was shaken off by the rumbling of my belly though so dinner was saved. Thank goodness!

I had 2 people so I had half the meat but made the full recipe of crust. It fell off the lamb at cutting but we heaped it on our plates and enjoyed it anyway. The lemon juice added a tangy freshness that was delicious with the broccoli and potatoes that accompanied our meal and cut through any residual fatty taste in the lamb.

 

Parsley And Mustard Crusted Lamb Racks
Serves 4

4 racks of lamb (4 cutlets each)

Crust
2 cloves garlic, crushed
4 green shallots, chopped
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
2 tablespoons chopped fresh sage
1/3 cup seeded mustard
1/2 cup stale bread crumbs
1/3 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons lemon juice

Trim excess fat from racks, cover bones with foil. Press crust mixture evenly onto back of each rack, cover, refrigerate for several hours. Place lamb on rack in baking dish, bake in moderately hot oven for about 20 minutes or until tender.
Crust: Combine all ingredients in small bowl; mix well. (Try not to bathe in it)

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

2 thoughts on “Fancy midweek dinner

  1. Well done lamb rack is great! Next time maybe try smearing the mustard over the meat first. ? I have found it increases the crusts stickability

Leave a Reply

