RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Potato Salad my style

Leave a comment

Potata Salata, my go to potato salad. I am not a huge fan of mayonnaise based potato salad, I am particular about the mayonnaise that I use and still, enormous gobs of it kind of turn my stomach. Don’t get me started about store bought potato salad….Urk!

I stumbled upon this recipe many years ago and every time we have a BBQ or potato salad is called for, this is my alternative. I have yet to receive a complaint and often receive a request for the recipe where ever we go.

Of course, as a plus, it uses fresh parsley from the garden patch so that always makes me a happy bunny. This time I threw in a handful of chives also as the onion I had was a bit on the small side and the salad itself was a bit on the big side. I normally cut down on the oil a bit and up the vinegar but the recipe is a great base to start experimenting from. Make sure to use a tasty olive oil and a good generous grinding of salt and pepper. Give it time for all the flavours to blend together.

I prefer this salad unrefrigerated, obviously you don’t want to leave it out for hours but take it out of the fridge well before serving so that the oil isn’t solidified and the chill is off the salad.

Potata Salata
4 to 6 servings

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 red onion, thinly sliced
5 large red potatoes, diced large
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley (I use a truckload but that’s just me)

In a small bowl, combine olive oil, wine vinegar, oregano, parsley, and onion. Mix and set aside.
Add potatoes to a large pot of boiling, lightly salted water.
Boil until potatoes are tender. Drain water and let cool.
Place in a large bowl, add dressing and season with salt and pepper to taste.
Toss to coat, cover bowl and refrigerate for several hours or overnight.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

