RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Something out of nothing

3 Comments

This meal was an ‘out of my head’ meal that was born on my kitchen bench.
Not long ago I bought a whole butchered lamb from my local butcher. It was not bagged or tagged and so, upon arriving home, I bagged it myself. Of course the labelling of said lamb was a little slipshod and there were a few pieces that were just random bits in bags. To deal with this I work on the premise that if it is cut small enough, anything is edible and just remove a meal sized baggy to defrost and plan meals as I go around what I find in a bag.

Yesterday I removed 2 bags that I imagined contained ribs and belly pieces. Low and behold I was right. I cut all of the ribs into individual pieces and rubbed them with some dry spices from the cupboard, covered them in plastic wrap and bunged them in the fridge for cooking up tomorrow. This left me with a couple of belly pieces that promised to be a decent amount of meat, should I take the trouble to cut off the fat and small dice them so that they were not tough as old boots.

I find these ‘throw away’ bits of a lamb very tasty although they are also usually very chewy to go along with it. You can cook them slowly and they tend to become more tender and delicious to eat but yesterday I just wanted to cook them up quick and get it over with, it was already dinnertime.

I removed all of the fat and as much sinew as I could and then diced the lamb up very small. Then I tossed it in with a cup full of Greek yoghurt and a couple of tablespoons of Moroccan seasoning. After stirring it through thoroughly I let it sit for a bit while I cooked some rice. After frying it of quickly in a non stick pan it was unceremoniously dumped on a bed of rice and hungrily devoured by the troops. As there were no complaints and barely any breathing during the whole process I will call it a success.

I enjoyed it very much, it was spicy without heat and also tasty, the lamb flavour still coming through strong. If you can be bothered fiddling with off cuts and taking the time to get the usable meat out of the bone and fat, they can be very rewarding indeed.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

3 thoughts on “Something out of nothing

  1. I love how we can just make a concoction up out of our heads.

    • I just found this comment in my junk folder. How rude of WordPress!
      I think once you have been cooking for a while, it becomes instinctive, you just ‘know’ what will go with what and MOST of the time it all works out pretty well. I think even the oldest cooks have those disasters that they just don’t talk about 🙂

      • Omg. Someone else told me that I went to their spam too. How did I become spam all of a sudden! Thanks for letting me know though.

Leave a Reply

